D.I.Y. Budget Birthday Cookie Cake!

Yesterday, my friend Christina and I decided to get together to help celebrate Ellen’s birthday. These are some girls I’ve known for over 15 years! Finals are just around the corner and this is the time of the year when a million things are due, so Christina and I knew we didn’t have a lot of time but we both still came up with a cute and clever way to surprise Ellen!

Screen Shot 2013-05-05 at 10.38.05 AM

 

Therefore, we had to make a cake!

1.  We baked 2 layers of a 9 inch chocolate cake.

2. Then, we baked some funfetti cookies (My absolute favorite)

3.  Iced the layers together and stuck the cookies around the side to make it an actual COOKIE cake.

4. Cut up some strawberries in an orderly fashion and laid them on top.

5. Christina cut out letters to be funny that said HBD LN — happy birthday ellen, get it? haha

6. Taped it to a couple skewers, and put it on the cake!

birthdaycake    group picture

3 thoughts on “D.I.Y. Budget Birthday Cookie Cake!

Leave a comment